The Ontario Hostelry Institute has announced the 2018 Gold Award honourees.

J. Charles Grieco announced today the eight honourees for the Ontario Hostelry Institute’s annual Gold Awards. In a statement tied to the release, Mr. Grieco commented, “The cohort of men and women to be honoured at this year’s OHI Gala Gold Awards Dinner on April 26th, more than met the criteria set-out for their selection and will add to the ‘glitter’ of earlier selectees.” The awards, and its attendant ceremony have been a fixture of the Ontario hospitality industry, and the leading acknowledgment of excellent in it, since they were established in 1988.

The honourees are selected in consultation with past Gold Award honourees. I know this because I am one (2016) and, full disclosure, I participated in the selection process. While the specific criteria varies for each category of award, success and excellence are by no means the only criteria considered. Awardees are nominated and selected based on their leadership in the hospitality industry and their commitment to improving it, within their own organizations and across the board.

Here are the 2018 OHI Gold Award honourees…

Aroma Espresso Bar Canada Inc., Anat Davidson, Managing Partner

Tobey Nemeth and Chef Michael Caballo, Co-Owners, Edulis Restaurant

Jeff Stober, Owner and Bill Simpson, Chief Development Officer, The Drake Properties

Paul Finkelstein, Teacher, Stratford Northwestern Secondary School, Screaming Avocado

Rita DeMontis, National Lifestyle and Food Editor, Sun Media, A division of Postmedia

Alida Solomon, Chef and Owner, Tutti Matti

St. Helen’s Meat Packers Limited, Robert Bielak, President and Owner

Geoff Dillon, Founder and President, Dillon’s Small Batch Distiller

Watch GFR for more on these accomplished women and men.